Testimonials


Customer's PoolCustom Pool by Challenger Pools

Rated 5/5 based on 21 customer reviews

Product description:
Custom Pool for homeowners in the Tampa Bay area that want to enjoy the best of Florida right in their own backyard
Customer reviews:

What we got from Challenger Pools is our own personal Resort!
,August 9, 2016

5/5 stars

testiMy wife had a lifelong dream of owning a pool. What we got from Challenger Pools is our own personal Resort! It’s a true story: A couple of weeks ago we had standing reservations at a pretty upscale hotel to attend a wedding. These reservations were made almost a year in advance and we had decided at that time to extend a couple of days to enjoy the amenities that included a pool area. During that period Challenger had completed our pool project and as the time got closer, we realized there was nowhere we would rather be than home with our new personal and very private resort. Being at that hotel was a downgrade to what Challenger created for us at home. My wife says it feels like we were on an episode of “Yard Crashers”! We have a fairly large pool with a an additional 20’ x 50’ Paver deck surrounding at one end. Because of the topography of our land, this is located within a rather large retaining wall that is 5’ high on one side and at near ground level on the other. The Engineering was perfect! The drainage is built in and the elevation perfect to our existing covered lanai. One thing is to plan it, but it’s another to see a completed project come out exactly as designed. My mother an Architect, my Father a Civil Engineer, and they are both amazed there were no problems and it came out so perfect. During the build we were in constant communications with the staff and we came to know Bruce, Carolyn, Mario, Chris and the rest of the staff constantly providing updates and answering questions. They were very helpful with the multiple changes we made during the build and we discovered along the way that it’s a family run business. We recently experienced a problem with the “Autobot” cleaning unit that came as a package with the pool. It’s under warranty so all we need to do is send it back for a replacement. No big deal, right? But upon hearing this, Bruce sent over a loaner for us to use while ours is being replaced! Who does that these days!? Family does… And we love being part of it.

Outstanding and goes a few extra miles.
by ,July 13,2016

5/5 stars

CaptureChallenger pools is currently building my pool that I contracted a month ago. They were patient waiting until I got my electric moved then they were right on the permitting. David Knight is my salesman and he is outstanding and goes a few extra miles. Met the owner and other staff and all have been extremely nice and helpful. All the subcontractors have been awesome and do excellent work as I sit here watching them get ready for pavers. So far I have no complaints or concerns.

The team is incredibly nice and sharp at what they do!
by ,June 28, 2016

5/5 stars

CaptureMostly everyone out there can make your pool dreams come true, whatever those may be. However, not everyone out there will truly focus on your satisfaction and customer service. I have worked with Jay and the rest of the team from day 1. Any questions or issues i thought i had were always taken care of first and foremost. The team is incredibly nice and sharp at what they do. Regarding prices and quality of labor, it is 5 star in my book.
I received multiple quotes that came in at the same exact price and one a bit lower. However when someone chooses to not answer back a simple question before money has been exchanged, that is a RED FLAG and you should avoid working with said company.
Again, everyone will make your pool look nice and your pavers look amazing, however, when any future issues or questions come up, THAT is when the company needs to shine.I will absolutely do business with challenger again, and in fact, have already recommended several neighbors and friends to use them for your remodel needs. 5-star all around!

Challenger Pool Came Out Perfect
by , April 30, 2016

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewFantastic job!…Came out perfect, had one small issue on the pool filter and they came right over and put a new seal on it!
Bruce and his team started and finished exactly when they said they would.
Highly recommend!

Challenger Pool New Deck review
by , January 24, 2016

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewWe got our pool deck paved..it had been out dated looked old ..
Challenger took on the challenge..no pun intended..making our pool look amazing.
Great service..awesome people to deal with.
Highly recommend!

We love our new pool remodel!
by ,September 20, 2015

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewIn June, my wife and I spoke with Jay on having our pool remodeled after deciding to convert to a salt system. Jay gave us some suggestions on things we needed to do in order to get the most out of what we were paying for. After speaking with him we had our cage re-screened, several trees pruned back and trash trees removed. We are very pleased with the finish work of the re-screening, tree pruning and removal. We were very satisfied with the final pool remodeling. The work took longer than planned due to weeks of raining however it was well worth the wait. Jay’s team did a great job and Mark was really a pleasure to have as one of the team member.
Everything is looking and running really well. I would recommend Challenger Pool to others who might be interested in having their pool remodeled.

Challenger Pool Came Out Perfect
by ,September 20, 2015

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewWe got our pool deck paved..it had been out dated looked old ..
Challenger took on the challenge..no pun intended..making our pool look amazing.
Great service..awesome people to deal with.
Highly recommend!

Challenger Pool New Deck Review
by ,April 30, 2016

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewIn June, my wife and I spoke with Jay on having our pool remodeled after deciding to convert to a salt system. Jay gave us some suggestions on things we needed to do in order to get the most out of what we were paying for. After speaking with him we had our cage re-screened, several trees pruned back and trash trees removed. We are very pleased with the finish work of the re-screening, tree pruning and removal. We were very satisfied with the final pool remodeling. The work took longer than planned due to weeks of raining however it was well worth the wait. Jay’s team did a great job and Mark was really a pleasure to have as one of the team member.
Everything is looking and running really well. I would recommend Challenger Pool to others who might be interested in having their pool remodeled.

Turning Our Dreams into a Reality
by ,February 16, 2015

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Design and Construction ReviewEven though our pool isn’t quite finished yet, we wanted to share our experience with you. First of all, we felt extremely comfortable with Steven. We interviewed several pool companies and spoke with all types of sales people. Steven’s no pressure friendly approach was exactly what we were looking for. The other skill that impressed us was his design abilities and the way he took the time to really understand what we were looking for. And lastly, the fact that he could quickly and easily get feedback and approval of our designs and questions during the initial process really showed us that your company valued our business.
The other major point we wanted to share with you is the quality we have seen so far. We were completely blown away by the skill and workmanship of the coping. We happened to be home for some of that process and it was like watching an artist at work. Then when we came home and saw the pavers we were once again blown away by how perfect they looked, and finally the screen enclosure also seems to be outstanding in both quality and installation.
We still have a couple of steps left in the process, but we have been so happy with it this far that we didn’t want to wait to share this feedback.
Thanks so much for helping us turn our dream of owning a pool into a reality.

In terms of value for the price, you and Challenger pools are awesome!
by ,January 1, 2015

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Review from Palmetto FloridaNow that the pool has been in and working for a while I thought I would drop you a note and thank you for a job well done. Being a detail person I will give you a complete honest assessment of my experience with Challenger Pools in the following paragraphs. One thing all the local pool installers told me was to watch out for those people “across the bay” that come down here and sell you a bill of goods. They also advised me we would have difficulty getting any service after the sale.
Not being one to take word of mouth as gospel and being a retired Purchasing Manager I have heard it all from salespersons. I competitively bid six pool companies. Yours was the only one from “across the bay”. My approach was to assess all companies using the following criteria. I looked at each one in terms of Cost, Technology, Delivery, Quality and Service. I gave no one area a higher weight in my assessment. I will honestly and objectively address my experience in each of those areas. I developed a specification sheet for all items to be included in the project so everybody was bidding on the exact same requirements.
Cost- Challenger Pools was approximately 20% or more below the lowest other installer. Importantly, as you stated, your price was your firm price and there were no additional costs or cost overruns. Your pricing for add-on items after the sale were within the same range or better than others and you did not take advantage of being on the project to leverage a higher price for additional items.
Technology- Challenger Pools offered a system with equipment (while each company offered different brands) that was comparable to the others and configured to maximize my needs in the performance of the pool and features. They used all brand name equipment and experienced installers.
Delivery- While there were a few delays in the installation of certain parts of the project, over all Challenger Pools completed this project within the time they stated and I required.
Quality- The final product has proven up to this time to be excellent. Which proves my point that price is not appropriate for gauging quality. While I was not happy with the final finish installers, overall I feel Challenger Pools uses excellent tradesmen contractors. The finish was barely within the Florida guidelines for pool finishes. The mechanicals, tile work and decking is outstanding and at the least very impressive.
Service- One of the things I experience often is service during and especially after the sale. Challenger Pools has far exceeded my expectations in this area. On the few things I needed service on, Challenger and their contractors responded much faster than I imagined considering they were “across the bay”. I seriously doubt the “local” installers could have done better and faster. In terms of the sales experience, you and Fred are the consummate sales person. You were honest, told us exactly how it is with no ambiguity to mislead us. You provided and did everything on time as you promised.
Fred, we appreciate you and the ownership you and Challenger Pools have taken in assuring we are satisfied with Challenger Pools. In terms of value for the price, you and Challenger pools are awesome! I also invite Challenger pools to contact us and bring potential customers to view the pool and other work done at any time. We will gladly share our positive experience with every potential customer you send our way. This is not an idle offer. We are serious.

Our 4-Year-Old Daughter Has Not Stopped Thanking Us For Her New Pool!
by ,May 1, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Review by Realty CompanyHi Twila,
I just wanted to take a moment to thank Challenger Pools for the superb job that they did.
Twila, you have been tremendous. I really appreciate all your patience with me and my questions. You are very kind and easy to talk to and it means a lot that you took a few moments to update me and my husband.
I have had a long working relationship with Jim from your sales department. We worked together at Mercedes and he is the main reason we chose Challenger. I think it is important to trust your salesperson, and we definitely felt that way with him. We interviewed a competitor who spoke poorly of Challenger and we were turned off by them immediately. Jim is a true professional. He answered all questions promptly and helped us design the pool of our dreams. With his insight, he made some great recommendations that we were very pleased with.
I also wanted to acknowledge the following trades:
The graders were fantastic and helped to save some expensive sod for us. Our tile work on our pool is the best I have ever seen and I imagine the tiny pieces of glass were tough to work with. Thank you, Rob Whorley. Our screen enclosure is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you, Rohr brothers. Joey, who came to acid wash the pool was very informative and took the time to recommend ways to keep our pebble bottom looking its best. Tim Tamargo matched our previous acrylic deck perfectly and covered up some really nasty cracks for us. Our cantilever edge is just beautiful. And finally, Bob who came out and delivered our equipment.
Thank you again for a beautiful pool. This has been a dream of ours for many years and our four-year-old daughter has not stopped thanking us for her new pool! We will definitely recommend Challenger Pools!

Couldn’t Be Any Happier with Pool Price, Process and Finish
by ,June 4, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Testimonial Letter from FordDear Bruce and Carolyn Esquinaldo,
This letter is to convey our deepest thanks to you and your staff for the tremendous job everyone has done on our new pool. We couldn’t be any happier with the price, process and finish of the pool. We were sent to John Frayne by another satisfied customer, my co-worker, Frank Lacey. We liked John from the second we met him- he’s very customer friendly. He gave us a great price and followed through with all promises made. Bill Eaton was our project manager and did a great job explaining the work, permitting, etc. He kept us informed about every phase of the pool building process, and was “hands on” throughout the entire process. This is the kind of customer service that every company should strive for.
Please display this in your showroom for people to see and even have them call me, (813)-907-7800. Everyone that I talked to at work (Heritage Ford) or away from work, will get referred to Challenger Pools. We appreciate it. Thank you!

We Haven’t Stopped Swimming!
by ,June 1, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Colorful Swimming Pool Thank YouTo John Frayne, Bill Eaton and all the Staff at Challenger Pools,
Thank you so much! We haven’t stopped swimming since the pool was finished!
Thanks Again!

Challenger Pool Resurfacing Review
by ,April 6, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Testimonial LetterHello, I just wanted to let you know what a great job Jay and his team did in the resurfacing of our pool and deck area. We originally and foolishly contracted another company for the job and they caused more damage than they did in improving our pool area. Jay and his crew were always professional and honest, giving me all the information I needed to know up front. I can now enjoy looking at my pool again. Thanks for everything!

New Pool Construction Review
by ,April 6, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Installation ReviewMr. Esquinaldo,
I wanted to write you this letter regarding a pool recently installed for my family and I here in Tampa. I wanted to let you know what a pleasure it was to deal with Challenger from the beginning to the final installation and even beyond.
I shopped around for some time before making a decision on what kind of Pool Company to choose and I found Challenger to be very competitive. Beyond the value, I was very satisfied with the service we received from Challenger in the way I was well informed on each of the steps taking place and the process in general. When I had questions or concerns, Challenger was very responsive and attentive to my questions and requests. Jennifer in the construction department, Bill in Service, and George, our Project Manager, were all very professional, responsive, very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.
Even with the pool having been completed, I have found that any issues I have or questions I have had have been addressed by Bill and appreciate the level of service provided even after our pool project was completed.
I will definitely recommend family and friends to Challenger as I have already begun to do.

Challenger Letter of Commendation
by ,February 1, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Typed TestimonialDear Mr. Esquinaldo:
Please accept this letter of commendation on behalf of Mario Gomez, the project superintendent, who performed in an exemplary manner in the scheduling and completion of our swimming pool. Mario always kept us informed as to the status and procedures concerning our pool construction and evidenced superior professionalism in the performance of his job.
Because of Mario’s outstanding job, my wife and I will be recommending Challenger Pools to our friends and family. Kudos to Mario!

Challenger Letter of Gratitude
by ,June 6, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger TestimonialMr. Esquinaldo,
Please accept this letter of gratitude on behalf of my wife and myself. When we contacted you in early January about 16-year-old outstanding permits for the building of our swimming pool which came up on a title search of our home, we had no idea even where to begin, having only owned the house for 3 years (and having a clear title certificate in the safe!) I cannot tell you how much we appreciated the professionalism and problem solving efforts of your staff, specifically Bill. He answered the phone courteously every single time my wife called, and I know at times he was as frustrated as we were.
The fact that your company was willing to stand behind the original contract between Challenger and the then homeowners from 16 years ago, impressed us, our neighbors, and our friends. Such character and commitment to what you build defines the kind of company we want to hire in the future to do contract work on our homes. The Challenger representative who dealt with the cage and the ladder were professional, courteous and considerate.
We are happy to recommend Challenger to anyone, knowing that you can be trusted, and counted on to go above and beyond to see a project to completion. Thank you so much.

Wonderful Challenger Customer Service
by ,June 7, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Customer Service Testimonial LetterDear Mr. Bruce Esquinaldo,
My husband and I chose Challenger Pools because we heard so many great things about your company and now we are very happy we made that decision. Straight from the beginning with our salesperson John, who was extremely professional and polite. He explained everything in detail and made us feel we were getting a great deal and we did.
After we signed the paperwork and the process started we met the Superintendent, Wayne, who was very informative and extremely helpful with all our questions. I personally am a person that questions everything and he was so kind. I called him in the evenings, on the weekends, and even during the Super Bowl and he always answered his cellular phone and explained everything I asked.
Each different crew that came to our house was very professional, quiet and cleaned up after themselves.
My husband and I own an Aluminum Company and we know how hard it is to make sure every detail of each job is taken care of but your company did exactly this.
We will personally be happy to recommend your company to our customers, family, and friends.
Thank you again for your companies’ customer service. It was a wonderful experience.

Challenger Was a Wonderful Experience
by ,June 8, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Swimming Pool TestimonialMr. Reader,
We have recently had to have our swimming pool equipment relocated to the back of the pool due to county regulations. Mr. Messler was given the assignment and what could have been a nightmare of an experience, has turned out to be a wonderful experience because of Brian. He has been great. He is friendly, efficient, responsible, and does a fabulous job. He shows up when he says he will and takes care of business promptly.
He is a great asset to the pool company that he is working for and I am grateful to have had him taking care of this situation and would not want anyone else for the job.
Please do not hesitate to phone me if you would like to speak with me personally for reference purposes.

Challenger Pools: A Wonderful Job on our Project
by ,June 6, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Testimonial ReferenceMr. Esquinaldo,
I want to thank you and your crew for the successful relocation of all the pool equipment in order to meet the county codes on the second time around. Besides being an inconvenience to us, I realize it was the same for you as well as an expense to your business, after the fact.
Brian did a wonderful job with all the plumbing and he was very efficient and takes great pride in doing his job well and works diligently to get it done, with the customer foremost in his consideration. He is an asset to your company.
The electricians also did a great job and took care of business and they were also very careful as they did their job. It is a tight area with the screening so close by.
I touched base with Tony Elliot many times and he got it all coordinated to completion. Sara was also very helpful when I spoke with her, as always.
Again, thank you for seeing this project through for us. Now we can sit back and enjoy our pool.
Feel free to continue to refer future clients my way.

Challenger Pool Craftsmen Review
by ,June 5, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Handwritten TestimonialMr. Esquinaldo,
I just wanted to give you a special thank you for personally taking care and making sure that your company stands up to your good name. I believe everyone was very professional and your people seem handpicked because they are very good craftsmen. I felt sure that once I had met David Overy, who should be commended for his lovely work (with the rest of the company), [our pool] had to be great and it is. Thank you so much for our beautiful pool.

Challenger Pool and Spa Review
by ,January 12, 2010

5/5 stars

Challenger Endorsement from 2009Bruce,
I am writing to thank you and compliment you for the beautiful pool and spa you built for us (completed July 2009).
It was your personal involvement and your caring about what we wanted that made it all possible. We got exactly what we asked for and at an exceptional price, and despite 2 weeks of rain, the pool was finished on time. Your approach to building our pool was the exact opposite of four other pool builders who gave us estimates, and we appreciate your personal touch. (Instead of merely telling us the cost to build what we thought we wanted, you worked from the approach that YOU are going to build our pool…now let’s see what we have to do to get there!)
From the beginning to end, Challenger was especially responsive to our needs/wants and what we could afford. There were no hidden costs. You were always eager to make changes to accommodate new ideas as we went along. You always answered our questions and showed us what each option would look like and cost.
We were greatly helped and encouraged by viewing some of the thousands of pools you have built in the area, including several within a mile of our house. We got lots of new ideas, which you quickly helped us incorporate.
In the end, you gave us a great pool and compared to the other companies, saved us at least $15,000. We gladly endorse Challenger Pools. We couldn’t be happier!

Repeat Challenger Pool Customer
by ,June 25, 2014

5/5 stars

Challenger Pool Testimonial from 1994Challenger installed our pool in May or June 1994. I actually still have the job #40505. How about that? We have enjoyed this pool all these years and now the grandchildren are (not that we’re saying we’re old.) Since Challenger did such a great job back then I felt I should ask Challenger first for an estimate for resurfacing the pool. It is a 14′ X 28′ rectangular pool Depth is 3′ – 6′ – 4″. In other words a play pool. I didn’t need and exact estimate just an idea what a job would cost. Please don’t hurt me (lol) now on a fixed income.

Custom Pool Designs

Don't settle for cookie cutter. Get a custom pool designed for your backyard with all the features you want. Learn More»

Construction / Remodels

Remodel your pool with new water features and more. From simple enhancements to full construction. Learn More»

Pool Add-ons

Upgrade your Pool experience with an add-on such as a waterfall, pool deck covering, lighting and more. Learn More»
Copyright © 2014 Zymphony Technology Solutions